Fact or Fiction?

Ok, so I am a little out of order here – this was actually the first prompt from the class. But, since it is going here, it’s ok to be a little out of order 😉

Here, we were asked to write two paragraphs. One, that has 1 fact and 3 fiction, the other has the opposite. 

Those who know me should know which one has more fact; I made it a bit easier for those who don’t. However, can you guess what is the truth and what is fantasy?

1 Fact – It is a sad thing to watch your parents grow old, isn’t it? There is a certain inherent fear of them passing, as though it is a glimpse into one’s own mortality. Looking at my own mother, I still see the beautiful woman that she is, although the lines on her face and the increasing white of her hair belie her age, and act as a sad reminder that one day I will no longer have her voice to comfort me in times of need.

3 Facts – I can still recall the haunting melody of the ornate silver jewelry box that sat on the bureau. It gripped me even as a child. Perhaps that is why I hate the music as I do; it is a reminder of what was and all of the hope of what could have been. Unfortunately, life can be cruel, and hopes can be dashed in the blink of an eye.

Leave a Reply

